Channel1 Los Angeles
07 de Junio de 2018

On June 7, senior officials from the United States, Australia, India, and Japan met in Singapore on the sidelines of the ASEAN-centered Senior Officials Meetings and reaffirmed shared support for a free, open, and inclusive Indo-Pacific region where all countries respect sovereignty, international law, including with respect to freedom of navigation and overflight, and sustainable development. The officials confirmed that the four countries had a common commitment, founded on shared democratic values and principles, to uphold and strengthen the rules-based order in the Indo-Pacific. Meeting participants examined ways to achieve shared goals, including in development and connectivity; good governance; regional security, including counterterrorism and nonproliferation; and maritime cooperation.

The four countries reiterated strong support for ASEAN centrality and ASEAN-led mechanisms in the evolving regional architecture, and affirmed the indispensable role of regional institutions in the Indo-Pacific. Participants noted that they each have an important role to play in safeguarding and strengthening open, transparent, inclusive and rules-based regional order. All sides committed to partner with countries and institutions in the region to promote the shared vision of a peaceful and prosperous Indo-Pacific. The four countries also committed to continuing discussions on a regular basis.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s